R6034 – C runtime error in Vista

Today, when trying to execute a test program on Vista, I got the above error. I have copied only executable and forgot to copy manifest file to the destination folder. So, I was getting the above error, when I tried to execute the executable. But, after copying manifest file also, this error did not go away. I have searched over the net for any clues, in many forums this issue is discussed, but all posts are talking about some manifest problem in Vista. But, somewhere I read that Vista caches the meta data. So, I touched the executable using touch command to change the last modified time[I use cygwin]. After that OS is able to recognize manifest file associated with executable and started working fine.

8 Comments

  1. prem said,

    July 15, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    good info

  2. esmat said,

    September 28, 2009 at 2:08 am

    Hi,

    I run touch in vista touch -o -m C:\OPNET\14.0.A\sys\pc_intel_win32\bin\*.*

    but again i faced same problem (abow error) would u plz email me correct command that u used.

    Tanks milliouns
    Esmat

  3. kedir said,

    November 1, 2009 at 9:39 pm

    Hey Esmat..

    Previously I faced the same problem…but later on I did the following and it worked well.
    1. Download the file “Win32 Console ToolBox 1.0″ from the following web

    http://www.stevemiller.net/apps/

    2.Copy the file “touch.exe” in to ur “system32″ directory
    3. then run ‘touch’ command from your “Opnet bin” directory.
    I hope it will help you.

  4. Hamid said,

    January 30, 2010 at 9:52 pm

    I wanna kiss You!!!
    I tried everything other sites have given but non of them was applicable.
    Yours worked amazingly good!
    I tried it in Windows 7 and everything is alright

  5. Bruce Zhu said,

    July 7, 2010 at 1:47 pm

    Kedir! Great !!
    It works for Win7

  6. Saud said,

    November 16, 2010 at 5:30 pm

    microsoft visual c++ runtime error R6034:

    I am also facing same problem when i want to compile my opnet model…. but i read the previous comments but not clear the step three” 3. then run ‘touch’ command from your “Opnet bin” directory.”:

    Please some one help and guide me how I fix this error on XP?

  7. Mehrdad said,

    January 3, 2011 at 12:36 am

    actually I have runed Touch command but i face to Error 5 it means access denied on file just manifest file touched please help me regard this issue its very important for me.
    thanks

  8. floraanson said,

    October 17, 2014 at 5:23 pm

    Runtime error occurs due to many causes such as hardware or software problem, virus attack, missing dll file issue and many more reasons which return “C” runtime library error. To fix runtime error r6034 you can apply a third party tool because it is easy to fix this issue and it is difficult to solve it manually. To get information by manually you can follow the given links.

    http://www.r6034runtimeerrorfix.com


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

