Seeing pre-processor macros in gdb

In gdb, we can see the source code while debugging. But, if there is any macro in the source code which is defined in some other file, then we have to search for that macro outside gdb [using fgrep] and see what it expands to. In complex codes like openssl, it is even difficult to find/understand macros. When I was searching for this kind of feature in gdb, I saw this link. Then, I came to know that this feature is already implemented. After further research on this topic, I read this link. In this link, it says, if we build our source code with -g3 -gdwarf-2 , it will include all the macros in the debug information. So, I have written a test program and built it with those options. After that, in gdb, I have tried $info macro <Macro.Name>, it gave the line no# where the macro is defined and full macro definition. In addition to just seeing macros, we can use ‘macro expand’ command to see what the macro expands to.

One interesting note: I tested a small program and it worked in my SuSE8.1, GCC3.2.2, GDB5.3. I have tried to test the same thing in Fedora-core3, GCC3.4.2, GDB6.1, it did not work. I think it is the problem with GDB [though I am not sure]. GDB needs to support these debugging formats. So, if we build GDB with proper flags, I think it will work.

I read that there are better debug formats than dwarf-2, one among them is stabs. But, once again, your debugger needs to support it.

2 Comments

  1. jayaram said,

    October 24, 2006 at 1:15 pm

    dp when will you start writing posts in english 😦
    ento dedicated ga chaduvdamu ani vasta
    okha aksharam ardham ayithe ottu

  2. Srikar said,

    May 4, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    Hi Durga Prasad,

    Is there is any option in dbx on Solaris running on Sparc64 machine for debugging the macros.


Leave a Reply

